Mystery Monday – The Jowetts in Basford Cemetery

I haven’t done a great deal of research into the Jowett side of my family up to yet, other than a basic gathering of names from the Census and a handful of certificates.

Browsing in the Nottinghamshire Archives some time ago I came across a memorial inscription in Basford cemetery, Nottingham for my 2x Great-grandparents Edmund Jowett and his wife Theresa (nee Bates). It records the deaths of Edmund in 1908, his wife Theresa in 1932 and two of their sons, Thomas and Henry, who sadly both died at the age of five just over a year apart.

I was puzzled by the reference to Theresa as I can 270d6a1964b744cf0682321e3b9518bd600c47d67e6945f888ed6a08c827fa38remember my Grandmother telling me that Theresa had remarried and that she “wasn’t a Jowett when she died.” I assumed (never a good thing in genealogy!) that Theresa had been buried under the name Jowett and had therefore not remarried at all. Also all four burials share the same reference number: 1185 so I’d assumed (again!) that they were in the same grave.

I’d put this to one side and not followed up with any more research, but a couple of weeks ago I began to search the actual burial records for Basford, looking for any of my ancestors names. I found an Edmund Jowett (died 1908) and a Theresa Hallam (died 1932) in grave 4 of section F1. Theresa had purchased the grave in perpetuity Further on I found Thomas (died 1880) and Henry Jowett (died 1881) in grave 34, section K3.

I thought at first I’d got the wrong family in the memorial inscriptions, but on checking all the dates of death match up and there is no other family in Nottingham with the same names in the census records. I’ve also found a marriage between a Theresa Jowett and John Hallam in Nottingham in 1914 which helps tie things together.

However, I still don’t understand the differences in the records, so I’ll be asking for some help next time I’m at the Nottinghamshire Family History Society meeting as well as ordering the relevant certificates to back up what I hope I’ve found. A visit to Basford Cemetery may also be on the cards!

9ec9e-basford2bcemetery

Leave a Reply

