The Nottingham Jowetts

Following my discoveries in Basford cemetery I took advantage of the PDF trial at the GRO (General Register Office) to order the marriage certificate of my Great-Great-Grandmother Theresa Bates and her second husband John Hallam.

The certificate proved my Grandmother was correct about Theresa’s remarriage; her given name is Jowett & her father’s name is Peter Bates which fits with previous certificates I have found for her.

Hallam & Bates marriage

Theresa’s residence at the time of this marriage was 88 Stanley Road Nottingham; she was living with her son Charles, known as Harold, Jowett & his wife, Florence. They’d only been married for two years, so I wonder what Florence thought to having her mother-in-law living with them?!

I’m now waiting for three further certificates relating to this branch of my family tree so hopefully they will back up the information I’ve already found.

6 thoughts on “The Nottingham Jowetts

Leave a Reply

