Nottingham, Richardson

Thankful Thursday: A Grave Topic..

Up to date I haven’t been very successful in finding my ancestors’ burials in Nottingham, even though I’ve done a few searches in the archives.

A distant cousin emailed  to say she had temporary access to some online burial records & very kindly offered to do some look-ups for me.  I sent her a few names & she was able to find a few of them for me, which have been very much appreciated.

I was particularly happy with one of them. Some years ago I found a deed of grant for Robert Richardson’s (my 2x great-grandfather) second wife Emily Bell. She had reserved a grave plot in the Northern Cemetery, Bulwell. I went to find the plot and took a few photos, but there was no headstone and no further information.

Emily Richardson (nee Bell) grave

I was delighted to receive the new information which showed the cemetery and grave reference for Robert which matched with that of Emily, proving that they were buried in the same grave. Emily must have bought the grave rights following Robert’s burial to ensure she would be buried with her husband.

Burial

I’ve previously spent a lot of time tracing Robert’s eventful life so I am very happy to learn where his final resting place is.

8 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: A Grave Topic..”

Leave a Reply

