heritage, Organising

Tuesday’s Tip – Filling In The Gaps

I ordered a family tree chart from My History some time ago & am spending some of the Bank Holiday weekend filling it in.

20170803_155254

What struck me almost straight away is the number of gaps in it. I’ve been researching my family for some years & had expected the chart to reflect this, but what it shows is the amount of time I’ve spent filling in cousins & going sideways on my tree instead of upwards.

I don’t regret spending the time going sideways – I’ve found some interesting people and great stories, such as the Yorkshire Sheep Rustlers – but this chart has definitely helped me see that I need to concentrate my research on my direct ancestors a little more in the future.

karsten-wurth-inf1783-205496
Photo by Karsten Würth (@inf1783) on Unsplash

So my tip for Tuesday would be to take a step back occasionally and consider whether the direction you’re going in is the right one for your research.

 

2 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Tip – Filling In The Gaps”

  1. I completely agree – I did something similar about 9 months back, wrote out my tree and was also surprised how many gaps I had like this. Sometimes because I had struggled finding that step backwards, but often because I had become pre-occupied with siblings and cousins!

    I do like the look of this chart! ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

